Delayed Penalty: Hockey Romance, Anyone?

I’m thrilled today to host a new writer friend, Sophia Henry. I had the pleasure of reading her new novel, DELAYED PENALTY, a few weeks ago.

The world of hockey is quite new to me, so her book was intriguing on that level. But the story also had nice depth because it went well beyond the hockey aspects to look at the main character’s Russian heritage and difficult past. I’m posting my review below and all the fun ways you can connect with Sophia (who is a lovely person in addition to being a talented writer).

DELAYED PENALTYfive wrens1

Five Wrens for DELAYED PENALTY by Sophia Henry

Sophia Henry’s novel was a delicious escape for me. I don’t live in an area where hockey is a big deal, but it didn’t take long for me to feel like I could be a Pilots fan, specifically, a fan of Aleksandr Varenkov. I enjoyed having a front row seat to the romance between him and Auden. Both characters have depth and intriguing back stories. Because they’ve experienced similar past hurts, they have a special connection, one that extends well beyond the physical attraction they feel.

Auden’s adventures as a singer with a band and her involvement with a non-profit are nice additions to the story that give more insights into her character. I really liked the interplay between Auden and her grandparents. It reflected the tension, love, and complexities of their relationship.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book because it had lots of layers wrapped around the central romance. These aspects of the story gave it more depth and made it a really fun read. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys sports romances, and even to those who don’t because…hello? Hot Russian hockey players.

About DELAYED PENALTY:

She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue, Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through, Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.

You can buy DELAYED PENALTY through Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iTunes, and Kobo.

Connect with Sophia on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads. Check out the other stops on her Tasty Books Tour for more reviews.

Sophia HenrySophia Henry, a proud Detroit native, fell in love with reading, writing, and hockey all before she became a teenager. She did not, however, fall in love with snow. So after graduating with an English degree from Central Michigan University, she moved to North Carolina, where she spends her time writing books featuring hockey-playing heroes, chasing her two high-energy sons, watching her beloved Detroit Red Wings, and rocking out at concerts with her husband.
Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Delayed Penalty: Hockey Romance, Anyone?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s